The Library will be closed from Saturday, May 25th through Monday, May 27th in observance of Memorial Day.
Featured

If You Liked Haunting Books, Try This…

a creepy gray house with orange lights on inside

There’s no better way to get in the Halloween spirit than with a scary read. From ghost stories to thrillers, these are the books to pick up during the spooky Halloween season.

Ghosts

Move over, Casper, these ghosts mean business. Ink and Bone tells the story of a psychic who finds herself in the middle of a missing person investigation, while in Darkest Journey Civil War reenactors are turning up dead. Pick up one of these books for a ghostly adventure.

Witches

From Harry Potter to Sabrina, pop culture is full of witches, but these books don’t all have as happy of an ending as those tales. A Discovery of Witches-which was recently turned into a TV series-is the first in a series of about a scholar who has buried her witch ancestry for years, only to find she needs it to help save the world. Check out any of these books for a witchy time.

Vampires

We all know the tale of Dracula, but what about his kin? Delve into the vampirical world with these stories. You’ll learn hidden truths about Dracula in The Historian and confront unspeakable evil in ‘Salem’s Lot. Whichever books you read from this list, you’re in for a bloody good time.

Thrillers

If you like heart-pounding, edge-of-your-seat action, then these books are for you. The lone survivor of a massacre finds herself again the target of a killer in Final Girls, while in The Woman in Cabin 10 one reporter’s curiosity could lead her to her death. Pick up one of these books, but make sure to take a deep breath when you’ve finished it.

Mysteries

Everyone enjoys a good who-dun-it, but these stories take it a step further with a spooky vibe. Try to figure out who the culprit is before it’s too late. Uncover the secrets of a small town in The Dry or a town totally off-the-grid in A Darkness Absolute. Good luck putting down one of these mysteriously great reads.

Horror

Most people associate the haunting time of year with the horror genre, so here you go. Stephen King is obviously a master of the genre and Doctor Sleep is soon-to-be released as a movie, so get this The Shining sequel read before you head to the theaters. If you’re in the mood for another spooky hotel story, you’ll find it in The Night Sister. You’re sure to be scared no matter which of these books you pick up.

Return to Blog

What can we help you find?