Listen & Read Books!


The Library is now circulating physical books with built in audio players! Simply push the button on the audio player on the back of the book to start listening. Combining listening and reading can help children with reading comprehension and learning new vocabulary words. Check out some of the titles we have!



(Listen & Read)

Adventure According to Humphrey

Betty G. Birney

Humphrey the classroom hamster has adventures going to the library, learning about the ocean, and sailing across a pond on a sailboat.

View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Malala

Malala Yousafzai

A chapter book edition of Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai's bestselling story of courageously standing up for girls' education. Malala's memoir of a remarkable teenage girl who risked her life for the right to go to school is now abridged and adapted for chapter book readers. Raised in a changing Pakistan by an enlightened father from a poor background and a beautiful, illiterate mother, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. Her story of bravery and determination in the face of extremism is more timely than ever. In this edition, Malala tells her story in clear, accessible language perfect for children who are too old for Malala's Magic Pencil and too young for her middle-grade memoir. Featuring line art and simplified back matter, Malala teaches a new audience the value of speaking out against intolerance and hate: an inspiring message of hope in Malala's own words.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Alligators

Derek Zobel

Developed by literacy experts for students in kindergarten through grade three, this book introduces alligators to young readers through leveled text and related photos.

View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Remarkably You

Pat Zietlow Miller

Heartfelt and timeless, Remarkably You is an inspirational manifesto about all of the things—little or small, loud or quiet—that make us who we are. With encouraging text by Pat Zietlow Miller and exuberant illustrations by Patrice Barton, readers will delight in all the ways they can be their remarkable selves. You might go unnoticed, or shine like a star, but wherever you go and whoever you are… don’t change how you act to be just like the rest. Believe in yourself and the things you do best.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

How Do Space Vehicles Work?

Buffy Silverman

Space vehicles are out of this world! But how do they fly out into space? How do they carry people safely? And what parts do these amazing aircraft have? Find the answers inside this book!

View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

I Am Enough

Grace Byers

This gorgeous, lyrical ode to loving who you are, respecting others, and being kind to one another comes from Empire actor and activist Grace Byers and talented newcomer artist Keturah A. Bobo. We are all here for a purpose. We are more than enough. We just need to believe it.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars

Seth Fishman

Did you know that the earth is covered in three trillion trees? And that seven billion people weigh about the same as ten quadrillion ants? Our world is full of constantly changing numbers, from a hundred billion trillion stars in space to thirty-seven billion rabbits on Earth. Can you imagine that many of anything? The playful illustrations from New York Times-bestselling artist Isabel Greenberg and the friendly, straightforward voice of author Seth Fishman illuminate some of the biggest numbers in the universe--a hundred billion trillion stars--and the smallest--one unique and special YOU.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Dolphins

Ann Herriges

Simple text and supportive images introduce beginning readers to dolphins. Intended for students in kindergarten through third grade.

View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Pinkalicious: Puptastic!

Victoria Kann

Pinkalicious is expecting to have a pinkatastic weekend puppy sitting. She’s sure she’ll have all kinds of fun with Pinky, the visiting poodle, until she realizes that Pinky is shy and doesn’t want to play. But if anyone can convince the puppy to have fun, it’s Pinkalicious!

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Big Nate Strikes Again

Lincoln Peirce

Big Nate will surpass all others! But it won't be easy. He's stuck with Gina, his all-time enemy, who just might ruin everything! Will Nate win or lose? Pass or fail? Or end up in detention again? For fans of the hilarious Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: Meet Big Nate, self-described genius and definitely not the teacher's pet.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Islandborn

Junot Díaz

Lola was just a baby when her family left the Island, so when she has to draw it for a school assignment, she asks her family, friends, and neighbors about their memories of her homeland ... and in the process, comes up with a new way of understanding her own heritage.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go to School

Julie Falatko

Sassy and Waldo are good dogs. They spend the day keeping their house safe. Has a squirrel ever gotten inside? No! But every day their boy, Stewart, comes home from this terrible place called school smelling like anxiety and looseleaf paper. Sassy and Waldo decide to save Stewart. But they don't let dogs into school. So Sassy and Waldo decide to get creative. They put on an old trench coat, and now everyone at Bea Arthur Elementary thinks they are a new student named Salty from Liver, Ohio. Well, everyone except Stewart. Sassy and Waldo love school! Everything smells like meat and dirty socks. And they discover a whole other way to help out Stewart!

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

The Creature of the Pines

Adam Gidwitz

Elliot Eisner isn't exactly thrilled with the first day at his new school. His class is going on a field trip to a creepy forest called the Pine Barrens. The trip is being led by Professor Fauna, the weirdest teacher Elliot has ever met. And the only kid who will talk to Elliot, Uchenna Devereaux, isn't afraid of danger. She likes danger. Elliot and Uchenna are about to become part of a secret group of adventurers, The Unicorn Rescue Society, whose goal is to protect and defend the world's mythical creatures. Together with Professor Fauna, Elliot and Uchenna must help rescue a Jersey Devil from a duo of conniving, greedy billionaires, the Schmoke Brothers.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Ling & Ting: Twice as Silly

Grace Lin

Ling & Ting are twins. They like to be silly. They like to tell jokes. Most of all, they like to laugh together. Laugh with Ling & Ting! The beloved twins from the Geisel Honor book Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same! and Ling & Ting Share a Birthday are back to share their favorite funny stories with beginning readers. This collection of six laugh-out-loud stories is sure to tickle the funny bone of fans and new readers alike.

Read More View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Planets

Elizabeth Carney

Introduces facts about the planets, distinguishing between the inner, gas, and dwarf planets, and discusses how scientists learn about the planets and outer space.

View in Catalog

(Listen & Read)

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself? Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

Read More View in Catalog

What can we help you find?