In an effort to help slow the spread of COVID-19, the library will be closed starting March 13th until further notice. Visit our homepage for more details
Featured

Short and Sweet: Mercy Watson Read-alikes

Mercy Watson the pig
Mercy Watson to the Rescue by Kate DiCamillo

Mercy is not just any pig, at least to Mr. And Mrs. Watson. In the first book of this series when Mercy’s love for buttery toast causes an emergency with the Mr. And Mrs. Watsons’ bed, it’s a hankering for sugar cookies that helps Mercy save the day. The Mercy Watson series is excellent for young readers who are transitioning into chapter books.

If you are looking for other books that will get young readers hooked, why don’t you give these series a try! 

The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale

The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale and Dean Hale
Stopping monsters is no job for prim and perfect Princess Magnolia. But luckily Princess Magnolia has a secret: she’s also the Princess in Black, and stopping monsters is the perfect job for the Princess in Black. This series will bring you along with Princess Magnolia on her fantasy adventures.  

Owl Diaries by Rebecca Elliott

Owl Diaries by Rebecca Elliott 
Owl Diaries, a Branches series from scholastic, is excellent for a reader just starting out in chapter books. In the first book of the series Eva Wingdale get in way over her head when she offers to organize the spring festival at school. Eva does not like to ask for help, but the festival is a lot of work! Will she need to ask her friends to lend a wing? 

Charlie and Mouse by Laurel Snyder

Charlie and Mouse by Laurel Snyder
Join these two brothers, Charlie and Mouse, as they enjoy a day out together, attending an imaginary party and collecting rocks. This beginner chapter book is the first in a series that is great for a reader not quite ready for bigger chapter books.

Narwhal and Jelly by Ben Clanton

Narwhal and Jelly by Ben Clanton
Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together. Narwhal and Jelly is a fun and exciting graphic novel series that is perfect for any young reader.

Return to Blog

What can we help you find?